Home of the SK Modifieds®

August 31, 2015 Wild Thing Kart Feature Results

By: Matt Buckler, Journal Inquirer

STAFFORD — In order to win races, it’s not just how fast you can drive, it’s how fast you can make adjustments that counts.

After finishing second in the first of two Senior Champs Karting features Monday, Tim Sullivan knew he needed to make a change in order to come out on top in race No. 2.

“I anticipated a long green flag run, so I adjusted the tire pressure,” Sullivan said. “In the first race, my kart tightened up on me. I was very motivated not to let that happen again.”

His adjustment worked just the way he calculated. Sullivan surged past Scott Foster Jr. with four laps to go to win the second 15-lap feature, highlighting the action in the Ceric Fabrication Wild Thing Karts at Stafford Motor Speedway, sponsored by Ballyheigue Farm.

The win was Sullivan’s eighth of the season and gave him a 60-point lead in the championship standings.

“The championship will mean a lot,” Sullivan said. “I think I sewed it up tonight.”

In the first feature, Mike Perry, competing for the first time all year, held off Sullivan to win.

“I don’t come here very often,” Perry said, “but when I do, I have a pretty good set-up here.”

So did Bryan Narducci in the Senior Outlaws. He held off Joshua Gayman for 18 laps to win for the third time in four races.

Christopher Buffone took the lead with three laps to go to win his sixth Junior Outlaw race of the season. Jonathan Puleo was second.

In other action Monday, Nick O’Sullivan won the first Cubs feature, followed by Aiden Saline and Chase Sepina. Austin Goff prevailed in the second Cubs feature with Brody Monahan second and Johnny D’Amore third.

Damian Palardy got a jump on the restart to win the Tiger C feature over P.J. Evans and Matt Brewer. Jesse Martello took the lead early on his way to a win in the Tiger B race, followed by Ian Hawley and Jayden Lage.

Tyler Chapman rocketed from fifth to first in less than two laps to win the Tiger A race. Cameron Pearl was second and Jake Hines was third.

The season concludes on Sunday, Sept. 13 with the 2015 finale.