Home of the SK Modifieds®

Jimmy Blewett Wins Stafford 150

08-05-16-VLWMTSTAFFORD, Conn. – It was one of the most improbable of victories Friday night, but that didn’t make it any less sweet for Jimmy Blewett.

The 35-year-old from Howell, New Jersey, took advantage of fuel issues by NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championship points leader Doug Coby and Bobby Santos in the closing laps to drive away with the 26th annual Stafford 150.

“You’ve got to put yourself in position,” said Blewett, who has collected four top three finishes in nine races in the No. 4 Starrett/Mayhew Dodge. “We worked all race long to be in position to be there in the end, to have a shot.”

Friday marked the sixth career win and first since 2009 for the long-time Modified driver. Blewett sat out of the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour the last two years before getting an opportunity to drive for Bob Garbarino’s historic No. 4 Modified.

Justin Bonsignore finished second and Brendon Bock earned his first podium finish. Chase Dowling and Eric Goodale finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Coby won his sixth Coors Light Pole Award of the season Friday afternoon, and was trying to join Ted Christopher as the only driver to win four straight at Stafford. Christopher won the Fall Final in 2001 and the first three races of 2002.

Coby appeared well on his way Friday night as he led 140 of the first 143 laps.

But he suddenly slowed on the track, opening up the opportunity for the field to capitalize. Santos inherited the lead, but he too had fuel issues on the restart and the ensuing melee brought out the race’s final caution. It also pushed the race to 157 laps.

Coby wound up 20th and Santos 17th.

Ron Silk finished sixth, followed by Max Zachem, Timmy Solomito, Woody Pitkat and Sunoco Rookie of the Year candidate Craig Lutz.

The late-race shakeup cut into Coby’s championship points lead. He now holds a 30-point edge on Bonsignore and 34 over Solomito. Blewett moved to fourth in points, 11 behind Solomito.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour has a quick turnaround, racing Wednesday at Connecticut’s Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, before heading to Bristol Motor Speedway on Wednesday, Aug. 17, for the annual combination race with the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour.

Pos No. Name Sponsor Laps Diff
1 4 Jimmy Blewett Starrett/Mayhew 157
2 51 Justin Bonsignore M3 Technology 157 0.598
3 29 Brendon Bock Meadow Brook Collison/Mosquito Free Organic 157 0.830
4 9 Chase Dowling S&S Asphalt Paving/Dunleavy’s Repair 157 1.128
5 58 Eric Goodale GAF Roofing 157 1.423
6 82 Ron Silk Horton Avenue Materials 157 1.643
7 20 Max Zachem LuMacs Package Store/VWS 157 1.835
8 16 Timmy Solomito Diversified Metals 157 2.034
9 85 Woody Pitkat Stuart’s Autmotive 157 2.198
10 56 Craig Lutz* Lutz Mtspts./Morose Competition Eng. 157 2.422
11 99 Jamie Tomaino Dunleavy’s Repair/Atlantic Sprinkler 157 8.782
12 46 Jeff Goodale Riverhead Building Supply 156 1 Lap
13 24 Andrew Krause* Supreme Manufacturiing 155 2 Laps
14 64 Rob Summers Hoosier Tire East/Fast Track Elect/Hughes Motors 154 3 Laps
15 75 Shawn Solomito Eastport Feeds 154 3 Laps
16 33 Wade Cole Performance Engines/Kendall Oil 153 4 Laps
17 44 Bobby Santos Tinio Corp./Dan Kelley/Curb Records 152 5 Laps
18 8 Donny Lia Sypher Construction/Bardahl 151 6 Laps
19 26 Gary McDonald Lakeland Landscaping/TRC Electric 150 7 Laps
20 2 Doug Coby Dunleavy’s Repair/A&J Romano 145 12 Laps
21 89 Matt Swanson* Spafco Race Chassis/FMR Racing 143 14 Laps
22 01 Melissa Fifield Eastern Propane & Oil 121 36 Laps
23 36 David Sapienza Frankie’s Towing/Wine Country 113 44 Laps
24 18 Ken Heagy Buoy One Seafood 71 86 Laps
25 3 Rowan Pennink Cape Cod Copper/Canto Paving 68 89 Laps


Fastest Qualifier: Doug Coby, Time: 18.229 Seconds, Speed: 98.744 mph
Time of Race: 1 hrs., 4 mins, 13 secs Average Speed: 73.345 mph Margin of Victory: 0.598 Seconds
Caution Flags: Laps 70-77; 110-116; 146-149; 151-154. 4 for 23 laps.
Lap Leaders: Doug Coby 1-12, Eric Goodale 13-15, Doug Coby 16-143, Bobby Santos 144-149, Justin Bonsignore 150-151, Jimmy Blewett 152-157.
Total Laps Led: Doug Coby 140, Jimmy Blewett 6, Bobby Santos 6, Eric Goodale 3, Justin Bonsignore 2. 5 changes involving 5 drivers.
Top 10 Driver Points: Doug Coby 354, Justin Bonsignore 334, Timmy Solomito 330, Jimmy Blewett 319, Donny Lia 318, Max Zachem 311, Eric Goodale 306, Brendon Bock 302, Ron Silk 296, Rowan Pennink 291
Next Race: Thompson 8/10

* Denotes Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender

Posted in Results, Whelen Modified Tour Results