Home of the SK Modifieds®

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Returns to Stafford on June 5th for 25th Annual TSI Harley-Davidson 125

2015-WMT-1(Stafford Springs, CT)—The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will return to Stafford Motor Speedway on June 5th for their second of four visits during the 2015 season for the 25th Annual TSI Harley-Davidson 125. Last year’s TSI Harley-Davidson 125 came down to a series of late race restarts that saw Doug Coby hold off Bobby Santos, III and then Justin Bonsignore to take the win. Who will take the checkered flag in this year’s TSI Harley-Davidson 125 is anyone’s guess.

Looking back at the last 21 NWMT races held at Stafford, 8 drivers have reached victory lane, led by Santos’ 6 wins and Coby’s 5 victories. Coby and Santos are followed in the win column by Ted Christopher with 3 Stafford wins, Woody Pitkat and Ryan Preece with 2 each, and Donny Lia, Todd Szegedy, and Ronnie Silk each have one. When it comes to the driver with the hot hand, it doesn’t get much hotter than Pitkat.

2015-WMT-2Until August of last year, Pitkat hadn’t recorded a victory in a modified touring series. That all changed when he captured the checkered flag in the CBYD 150. Pitkat followed up his August win with a victory in the biggest race of them all, the 200-lap NAPA Spring Sizzler in April and he won the VMRS 80 last Friday night at Stafford. Although his Sizzler and VMRS wins were in totally different cars, Pitkat will be a driver to watch when the green flag is unfurled for the TSI Harley-Davidson 125 as he bids to be the first driver since Coby in 2012 to win consecutive NWMT races at Stafford.

Another driver who will be hungry for victory is Christopher. The 2008 NWMT Champion is Stafford’s all-time winningest driver with 122 feature wins, but he is currently in a win drought on the Tour. Christopher has gone three plus years or 44 races in a row without winning. Christopher’s last NWMT victory came at Stafford in October 2011 when he won the NAPA Fall Final.

2015-WMT-3Based on sheer dominance alone, Santos and Coby would have to be considered the favorites. Between them, they’ve won more than half of the NWMT races held at Stafford since 2010. With the race being 75 laps shorter than the Sizzler and 25 fewer than the usual Tour distance of 150 laps, the TSI Harley-Davidson can throw teams a curveball when it comes to planning race strategy.

The TSI Harley-Davidson was won in 2012 by Coby and in 2013 by Preece after having to pit early and storm their way back through the field. Coby had a flat tire early in the 2012 race and Preece spun on the very first lap of the 2013 race and had to go from worst to first. Last year’s race was caution free through the first 103 laps before Coby had to endure 3 restarts over the final 22 laps and hold off a hard charge from Bobby Santos, III and then Justin Bonsignore on the final lap to take the checkered flag.

Tickets for the TSI Harley-Davidson 125 are available and on sale now at the Speedway Box Office. Tickets are priced at $33.00 for adult general admission tickets, $5.00 for children ages 6-14, and children ages 5 and under are admitted free of charge when accompanied by an adult. Reserved seating is priced at $35.00 for all ages. All ticket prices include 10% CT Admission Tax. Stafford Motor Speedway offers plenty of free parking along with overnight parking in self contained Recreational Vehicles.

For more information on the TSI Harley-Davidson 125, or to order tickets, contact the Stafford Motor Speedway track office at 860-684-2783 or visit us on the web at www.staffordspeedway.com.


Posted in News