Home of the SK Modifieds®

Whelen Modified Tour Stat Advance: Stafford

Whelen Modified Stat Advance: Stafford
Analyzing the Stafford 150 at Stafford

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Aug. 3, 2016) – The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to one of its most familiar tracks for the Stafford 150 at Stafford Motor Speedway in Stafford, Connecticut, on Friday night. Below is a look at the race itself and some of the selected participants.

Stafford 150 Race Setup:
This marks the third of four NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour races in 2016 at Stafford Motor Speedway. The track has held 120 Whelen Modified Tour races, the second-most of any track in series history. Three-time Tour champion Doug Coby, of Milford, Connecticut, sits atop the standings after eight races this season, holding a 34-point lead over fellow three-time race winner Timmy Solomito of Islip, New York.

At Stafford Motor Speedway:
• The Stafford Springs Agricultural Park opened in 1870. The track was originally used for horse racing, which gave way to automobiles after World War II.
• Stafford Motor Speedway became a NASCAR-sanctioned track in 1959 and was paved in 1967.
• Stafford is one of nine tracks that have been a part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program in each of its 35 years of competition.
• The track has hosted 120 previous Whelen Modified Tour races, second only to Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park in series history.
• The inaugural NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour race at Stafford was held on April 14, 1985. NASCAR Hall of Famer Richie Evans won the 80-lap race as part of the 14th annual Spring Sizzler weekend.

•  Stafford has held multiple races in 31 of the tour’s 32 seasons. The lone exception was 1988.
• There have been 32 different race winners at Stafford, led by Mike Stefanik’s 20 victories.
• There have been 43 different pole winners at Stafford, led by Stefanik’s 17. Ryan Preece set the track qualifying record in the 2012 Spring Sizzler.
• No driver has started all previous 119 races at Stafford. Jamie Tomaino has missed only one – the track’s inaugural race.
• There have been eight races won in wire-to-wire fashion at Stafford, the last by Doug Coby in April.
• Ryan Preece was the youngest Stafford race winner at 18 years, 9 months and 14 days in 2009.
• Ted Christopher was the oldest Stafford victor at 53 years, 3 months and 28 days in 2011.

Stafford Data:
Race: #9 of 17 overall
Race Date: Friday, August 5 at 9:15 p.m. ET
Track Layout: .500-mile semi-banked paved oval
Race Length: 150 laps (75 miles)

Qualifying/Race Data:
2015 Winner: Ryan Preece
2015 Pole Sitter: Patrick Emerling
1-lap Qualifying Record: 73.082 mph (Ryan Preece, July 2012)
150-lap Race Record: 83.773 mph (Woody Pitkat, August 2014)

Active Category Leaders at Stafford:
1. Ted Christopher … 12
2. Doug Coby … 9
3. Bobby Santos … 6

1. Bobby Santos … 9
2. Donny Lia … 8
3. Doug Coby … 6

Top Fives
1. Ted Christopher … 30
2. Todd Szegedy … 24
3. Doug Coby … 17

Top 10s
1. Jamie Tomaino … 55
2. Ted Christopher … 52
3. Todd Szegedy … 32

Laps Led
1. Ted Christopher … 2,090
2. Doug Coby … 1,157
2. Todd Szegedy … 844

1. Jamie Tomaino … 119
2. Ted Christopher … 93
3. Wade Cole … 59

Selected Driver Highlights:

4-WMTJimmy Blewett (No. 4 Starrett Dodge)
• Is ranked sixth in the standings headed into this weekend with four top-5 and six top-10 finishes in eight races.
• Has two career wins at Stafford, with eight top fives and 16 top 10s in 32 career starts at the track.
• Finished second at Stafford in May, marking his best finish of 2016.
• Returned to full-time competition this season with owner Bob Garbarino’s Mystic Missile team.

51-WMTJustin Bonsignore (No. 51 M3 Technology Chevrolet)
• Sits fourth in the Whelen Modified Tour standings with five top fives and six top 10s in eight starts.
• Finished fifth in each of the first two races at Stafford this season.
• Has made 26 career starts at Stafford with one pole, seven top fives and 14 top 10s.



2-WMTDoug Coby (No. 2 Dunleavy’s Repair Chevrolet)
• Three-time Whelen Modified Tour champion leads the standings this season with three wins, four top fives and seven top 10s in eight races this season.
• Has won three straight races at Stafford dating back to last season.
• Has been dominant at Stafford this season, winning both races from the pole and leading 322 of the 330 laps contested across the two races.
• Has three wins this season, including a win at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.
• Has nine career wins at Stafford, including three straight wins at the track on two occasions, with 17 top fives and 27 top 10s in 46 career starts.

58-WMTEric Goodale (No. 58 GAF Roofing/RBSCorp.com Chevrolet)
• Has three straight Top-10 finishes at Stafford, including a fourth-place finish in May.
• Is ninth in the current standings with two top fives and five top 10s in eight races.
• Is coming off a fourth-place finish at Monadnock in the most recent race, equaling his best finish of the season.
• Only career win came at Riverhead — his home track — in 2014.


8-WMTDonny Lia (No. 8 Sypher Construction/Bardahl Chevrolet)
• Two-time Tour champion has 17 career wins.
• Has made 46 career starts at Stafford with four wins, 16 top fives and 28 top 10s.
• Sits third in the current series standings with three top fives and six top 10s in eight races.



3-WMTRowan Pennink (No. 3 Cape Cod Copper Chevrolet)
• Currently sits seventh in the Whelen Modified Tour standings with two top fives and five top 10s in eight races this season.
• Has two career Tour wins.
• Has 22 top 10s in 32 career Stafford starts, completing 97 percent of all laps run during that span.
• Owns three NASCAR Whelen All-American Series wins this season at the track, where he leads the weekly SK Modified division standings.

85-WMTWoody Pitkat (No. 85 Stuart’s Automotive Chevrolet)
• Has three career Whelen Modified Tour wins.
• Holds the 150-lap race record at Stafford of 83.773 mph, set in his win in this race in 2014.
• Two of his three career Tour wins have come at Stafford.



44-WMTBobby Santos (No. 44 Tinio Corp./Dan Kelley/Curb Records Chevrolet)
• The 2010 champion sits 12th in the current standings with one win, one top five and three top 10s in eight races.
• Won at Thompson this season for his 14th career victory, and won the non-points Whelen All-Star Shootout at New Hampshire in July.
• Has six wins, 14 top fives and 19 top 10s in 30 career starts at Stafford.


16-WMTTimmy Solomito (No. 16 Diversified Metals/R.B. Enterprises Ford)
• Sits second in the current standings with three wins and four top fives in eight races.
• Won in June at his home track of Riverhead Raceway and won the Tour’s most recent race at Monadnock Speedway.
• Recorded his first career Whelen Modified Tour win in the season opener at Thompson, leading 50 of 150 laps en route to the victory.
• Has five top 10s in 12 career Stafford starts.

20-WMTMax Zachem (No. 20 Lu-Mac’s Package Store Chevrolet)
• Sits fifth in the standings with two top fives and six top 10s in eight races.
• Equaled a career-best with a second place finish at Thompson on June 15.
• Has seven career Stafford starts, posting consecutive Top-10 finishes in his two most recent races at the track.

Up To Speed:
• This is the 32nd season of NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour racing. The inaugural race was contested March 31, 1985 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park.
• The 2016 schedule features 17 points races at nine different tracks across four states.
• The first eight races of the season featured four different winners — Doug Coby (three times) Timmy Solomito (three times), Ron Silk and Bobby Santos III. Santos also won the non-points Whelen All-Star Shootout at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Jason Christley
NASCAR Integrated Marketing Communications
(386) 547-2469