51 Years of Tradition: 1979 Season

2010-1979-SEASON-FRONTThe 1979 season at Stafford Motor Speedway was another example of slow and steady wins the race in the modified division. Richie Evans won a season high 9 modified feature events, but he could not match the season long consistency of Ron Bouchard, who took the championship by 6 points over Evans with 4 feature victories to his credit. Other modified feature winners during the year were Geoff Bodine with 3 wins, and Maynard Troyer, Charlie Jarzombek, and Jerry Cook each drove to victory lane once. Troyer’s lone victory was the 1979 edition of the Spring Sizzler, his third consecutive victory in the race. Troyer remains to date the only driver to ever win the Spring Sizzler three times in a row.