51 Years of Tradition: 1980 Season

The 1980 season at Stafford Motor Speedway ushered in a new decade with Richie Evans taking down his first track title in the modified division. After narrowly losing out to Ron Bouchard in 1979, Evans left no doubt as to who was going to win the track championship in 1980. Evans drove to victory lane 10 times and took the championship by a 100-point margin over Bouchard, who won 6 times during the 1980 season. With Evans and Bouchard owning a stranglehold on victory lane during the year, the only other modified feature winners were John Roasti, who won twice including the Stafford 150, and Bugsy Stevens and Ray Miller, who each won once.