51 Years of Tradition: 1984 Season

2010-1984-SEASON-FRONTThe 1984 modified season at Stafford Motor Speedway was a year that belonged to Brian Ross. The season began with “Mr. Excitement” Jimmy Spencer taking down a hard earned victory at the Spring Sizzler. There were six different winners in the first 6 races of the 1984 season in the modified division with Spencer, Richie Evans, Ray Miller, Ross, Brett Bodine, and Bugsy Stevens all finding their way into victory lane before Ross became the first repeat winner of the year. Ross used the early season Winston 100 and Ferrara 100 to his advantage by winning both races and enjoying the double point bonus that the extra distance events offered to secure himself as the championship leader. Defending modified track champion Reggie Ruggiero got off to a slow start during the 1984 season, but he caught fire in the second half of the year, winning a season high five times. However, it was not enough to secure him a second consecutive track championship as he would finish third in the championship fight behind Ross and Bodine. Ruggiero and Ross were the big winners of the season with 5 and 4 wins respectively, while Bodine was the only other multiple feature winner with 2 victories. Single event feature winners included Spencer, Evans, Miller, Stevens, Mike McLaughlin, Marty Radewick, and Bob Polverari.