51 Years of Tradition: 2005 Season

2010-2005-SEASON-FRONT2005 was the 21st season of the Stafford Motor Speedway / CARQUEST Auto Parts relationship. CARQUEST Auto Parts continued their NASCAR Touring division support by sponsoring the Whelen Modified Tour Spring Sizzler and CARQUEST Fall Final Weekend. CARQUEST Auto Parts brought the ISMA Supermodified cars back to Stafford for the Second Annual CARQUEST Extreme Wednesday event. Along with the ISMA Supermodifieds, NEMA Midgets, and Pro-4 Modifieds, CARQUEST lined up an all-star cast of Carl Edwards, Dave Blaney, Sammy Swindell, and Bentley Warren. Those four drivers participated in a match race using USAC Silver Crown cars, which was a precursor to CARQUEST bringing the cars back to Stafford the next season. CARQUEST also continued their support of Stafford’s weekly divisions with a $150 bonus to each SK Modified® feature winner a $125 bonus to each Late Model feature winner, and a $100 bonus to each winner of the newly formed Limited Late Model division.

Track champions were Lloyd Agor in the SK Modified® division, Ryan Posocco in the Late Model division, Michael Bennett in the Limited Late Model division, and Joey Ferrigno in the DARE Stock division.